APC Forum

How to reduce a block of magnesium to usable flakes, turnings ect.

dangerousamateur

Hi,

after watching californiapyros gogetter video I came to my mind that I still have a big block of mg in storage.

I found several offers for magnesium turnings, but people allways want so much money for them (in europe) - forget it.

I want the ships for colored stars and bengal fires, and if I remeber correctly I also once used quite big turnings in perchlorate flash, and the results where very good/fast.

Now I do not have any heavy machinery here. The sander sucks, the powder is rather to fine and the quantity is far to small.

I'm going to use a drill. Now since I'm not very experienced in working with metal stuff, perhaps you can give me some hints

-What speed is recommended to get chips or flakes rather than long turnings?

-Maybe something else than a common metal drillbit (if not to expensive)?

-Do you suggest any kind of coolant/lubricant? Ethanol, motor oil, ect?

PS:

yes, I'm aware of the fire hazard...

That would be a way, but I don't want to put that much effort in it. Also I don't need a very fine powder.

That would be a way, but I don't want to put that much effort in it. Also I don't need a very fine powder.

The problem that I see is the oxidization that happens when you shave it from the block. If you shave it under oil, you are golden and if you use a hand saw like a bow saw, you will have no issues building enough heat to start a fire but I have seen a couple crotch-rocket crank casings go up in flames from using a skill saw to cut them up.

I have used a band saw with a speed controller to cut up a mower deck with no troubles too but then again, the machine used coolant on the blade.

-dag

Use a wire brush. Either rasp it by hand with a file card attached to a wood block, or use a stiff steel brush in a drill, not too fast. This is the commercial method for medium (60~100 mesh) grades.