APC Forum

75% water 25% alcohol?

alexpyro101

Here's a total newbie question that I never asked in my few years of pyro. For the 75% water alcohol mix should i be mixing by volume or by weight?

Good question actually. I'm also fairly new at pyro although I've had interest all my life and loved class c fireworks in my younger days. I've been mixing alcohol and water by volume and for the most part, by eye. Some of the clear bottles have measuring lines which help. Of course,there's always the issue of refilling and such. I suppose you could have spray bottles dedicated to many different mixtures, that's pretty much what I do. I've also used the same method for cutting NC lacquer with acetone. This brings up another issue I had, most plastic spray bottles fail with acetone as it destroys the nozzle. I followed a tip I found (I think on this forum) and started to use the walgreen's spray bottles found in the hair spray section. I found that NC lacquer clogged the nozzles on these bottles unless I ran straight acetone through the nozzle after use.

I have one bottle for water for SGRS, one with alcohol/water for dextrin, one with isopropanol for shellac and red gum and one with acetone for parlon. Like you I have experienced that NC seems to clog the nozzle, so I pour the NC on the stars and make pumped stars.

What NC-lacquer concerns, I actually use percentage by weight. 20% for pumped stars, 5% for NC-bound prime.

I have one bottle for water for SGRS, one with alcohol/water for dextrin, one with isopropanol for shellac and red gum and one with acetone for parlon. Like you I have experienced that NC seems to clog the nozzle, so I pour the NC on the stars and make pumped stars.

What NC-lacquer concerns, I actually use percentage by weight. 20% for pumped stars, 5% for NC-bound prime.

Interesting,