APC Forum

tubes

feeln17

Anyone tell me is there a big difference in buying from hobby hose ( they need to be cut ?) or just get tubes from skylighter or pyrpcreations or ???? Thanks as I'm just getting started in this and want to do it right. and safe (:

Depends on what you want to do with the tubes. NEPT (Hobby Horse) tubes are the best but cost a lot. If you buy from Skylighter or Pyrocreations, you will pay about the same but will get the spongy tubes. Best to either roll your own or buy the NEPT tubes.

-dag

What glues are you using and what is best for rolling the tubes, I have been given samples of tubes that I can bulk buy (600) which I would do. however they are made from a chipboard paper with a reasonably large lip on the inside although they do seem strong. . I have made tubes before, but not with great success.

What glues are you using and what is best for rolling the tubes, I have been given samples of tubes that I can bulk buy (600) which I would do. however they are made from a chipboard paper with a reasonably large lip on the inside although they do seem strong. . I have made tubes before, but not with great success.

These sound like the tubes Pyrocreations sell, pulpy parallel wound tubes. Take a dowel of the same size as the ID of your tube, taper one end to a point, wax it up and rub it in then use this to open up the tube ends slightly so that they will fit the spindle base and so that the rammer will slide in without catching the paper.

These tubes work well for nozzleless rockets and gerbs but fail quite often when used for fast whistle or nozzled rockets.

I roll tubes from Kraft paper and wood glue or wheat paste, I have had poor luck with dextrine.

-dag