APC Forum

Whisle Rockets

Algenco

I started playing with 1lb Whisles a few weeks ago.

I've tried NaBenz and NaSal, the Benz sounds better, but the Sal puts them out of sight!!

I like Saly :)

still waiting on the cookies

Edited by Algenco

2 tests this evening, New batch of NaSal, 1 using Extreme whistle spindle, the other a "Pusher"

If my "Videographer" can keep up I'll post later

Need a new camera operator :)

Need more delay, both were still climbing at a high rate of speed

Pusher

Extreme

Those rockets don't waste their time getting airborne.

the benz is easier to press than the sali (at least for me) the sali is sticky. now its time to put some shells on those. Ive been making stars and comets for the past week.

Steve

Those were awesome! And as stated don't wait around for camera. Get some good info on what they will tote and let us know.

I put a 2.5 on a sali 4oz rocket and I think it will take a 4 incher once I get some stars dry im gonna give it a try.

Steve

I have no doubt they will put a 4" to a respectable height Edited by Algenco

No doubt, we had a good dozen larger shells powered off 1# whistle rockets last night, the biggest of which was not shot since we got cut off early.

-dag

How big /much can a 1# sali lift??? If a 4oz can do a 4 incher should do a 6 for sure!

steve

I am not sure that Al said that a 4oz could lift a 4" canister shell, I think he was talking about 1# rockets. You will have to test it yourself (too many variables in ones fuel) but I see no issues with a 1# sali rocket lifting 1000g to 300' and with the proper delay, breaking at apogee.

-dag

Yes, I'm only referring to the 1lb rockets I'm playing with.

I plan on trying one with a 6" ball once I'm through testing fuels.

For now I'm content with watching them go out of sight, no header, only 5g Vit F, it takes 3 seconds from the time I see the flash until I hear the report (very faint)

At roughly 331 meters per sec that puts them at over 990 m or 1/2 mile!!!