APC Forum

1 lb/year regulation on KNO3?...

bob800

Hello,

I'm somewhat new to pyrotechnics, and I've always wanted to build some black powder rockets. However, I've noticed a regulation for potassium nitrate on some suppliers, but not others. For example, United Nuclear states that new government restrictions prohibit an individual from purchasing more than 1 lb. of KNO3 / year. Firefox Enterprises also has this restriction. (except with an ATF licence, of course)

On the other hand, suppliers like Skylighter do not appear to have any restriction on their website. They even sell a kit which includes 8 POUNDS of KNO3, without any license required (as far as I can tell). Typing in "potassium nitrate" on eBay brings up dozens of hits for orders exceeding 1 pound.

Does anyone know more about this issue? Am I going to have a BATF agent at my doorstep if I order more than 1 pound without a license? Things like stump remover are so easy to obtain, I don't know how they could ever enforce this fully.

Thanks for any clarification,

bob800

Places like Firefox and United Nuclear have restrictions because they've been targeted by the Consumer Product Safety Comission (CPSC), and have not been able to fight the government machine. As part of the settlement, they've had to install these restrictions to prevent the manufacture of salutes. You'll notice that the regulations particularly affect fine metal powders and a number of oxidizers. I've never heard of people who ordered potassium nitrate in amounts greater than 1lb ever coming under fire from any sort of authority.

As far as safety goes, you should be OK if you read the safety threads. Be wary of things like coffee grinders etc...