APC Forum

Left Field Question

RobPrideaux

Hi there.

I am a pro photographer seeking expert help with an art project in exchange for photography services.

I am a California commercial photographer, looking to expand my work with fire. in 2009, I produced an award-winning series of images, and I'd like to build on that success, using colors and shaping.

http://www.robprideaux.com/temp/fireheart.jpg

©2009 Rob Prideaux

That original series was shot with small gasoline fireballs (about 3' in diameter). I've found that gasoline is pretty limited, however. I'm interested in exploring colored explosions, smoke, sparks, and also in shaping flames and explosions, including fire tornados.

I have read up on this and other forums, and have gradually realized that what you guys do is way beyond my capability. For example, I believe that fuels can be mixed with other chemicals to create colored flames, but I can't tell if those fuels have to be under pressure to create explosions, and more importantly, I have no idea what chemicals to use or how to mix them, nor do I have the proper tools or materials.

So, what am I looking for? Ideally, someone to work closely with me on the next phase of this project, someone who can build the necessary materials and tools, including safety tools, and be on set to supervise the operations. Failing that, someone to design and test mixtures that will produce the kinds of effects that I'm after, and supervise (over the phone) my replication and use of the recipes.

So, what's in it for you? This is a self-promotion project, so I don't have much budget. However, I can offer you high quality, framed fine art prints of the results. Or I could photograph one or more of your fireworks displays, or even give you photography lessons so you could take really good pictures yourself.