APC Forum

Snakes

alexthegreat00

Do you guys know those little fireworks for kids called snakes? You would light them off with a magnifying glass and they would expand into some sort of foamy, ashy, snake looking thing. Bad description but here is a picture: LINK.

I was not having much success at making them with the recipe floating around the internet which calls for sugar, baking soda, and alcohol. My younger brothers really like them so I would like to make some. Anybody have any ideas? I was thinking about just adding an oxidizer, but I am not really experienced to figure that out by myself. Thanks.

Very difficult to make, actually. They're made from a toxic mercury compound or nitrated pitch. I don't know what the kind sold in toyshops were made of but I doubt it was mercury - there have always been lawyers. From Weingart:

PHARAOHS SERPENTS EGGS.

This remarkable substance consists of small pellets of sulphocyanide of mercury which has the remarkable property of swelling 25 to 50 times its original size when lighted, producing a long snakelike ash. To prepare, make a concentrated solution of mercuric chloride and add little by little a solution of potassium sulphocyanide, stirring constantly. A greyish precipitate will be formed and when the last drop of sulphocyanide added no longer produces cloudiness permit the mixture to settle. Drain off as much as possible of the clear supernant liquid, remove precipitate to a paper filter placed in a glass funnel and wash slightly. When thoroughly dry reduce to a fine powder. When ready to form the eggs moisten very sparingly with a weak solution of gum arabic to which may be added a pinch of saltpeter and form into cones.

MAGIC SERPENT, (Black).

This German device produces an immense long black snake, otherwise quite similar to the Pharaohs Serpents but in no ways related chemically.

Naptha pitch 10

Linseed oil 2

Fuming nitric acid 7

Picric acid 3%