APC Forum

Dessicant (Reactivation)

donperry

I have 3 bags of dessicants that came in some computer device packaging. They are about 5x5 inches and has the following on it:

ACTIVATED BENTONITE

Static dehumidification Specification

MIL-D 3464E

Reactivation time in bag 16 hours at 245F

Can this be used for keeping water away from my KN/SU propellants?

I have 3 bags of dessicants that came in some computer device packaging. They are about 5x5 inches and has the following on it:

ACTIVATED BENTONITE

Static dehumidification Specification

MIL-D 3464E

Reactivation time in bag 16 hours at 245F

Can this be used for keeping water away from my KN/SU propellants?

I would think a bit of time in a food dryer or oven would re activate it for use as a desiccant.

Pharmacy's are great places to get lots of free bags of it.

They get loads of it in their supply boxes daily.

Do you keep your rcandy in tubes ready to launch or just singe well wrapped grains?

I'm pretty new at storing them so any info at all is helpful.

It's my favorite rocket fuel but I've still some timing issues for the recovery chute burst timing.

It's been to wet to do more testing so I've been fishing for lake trout and bass on the weekends instead of rocket launch tests.

Do you keep your rcandy in tubes ready to launch or just singe well wrapped grains?

I'm pretty new at storing them so any info at all is helpful.

It's my favorite rocket fuel but I've still some timing issues for the recovery chute burst timing.

It's been to wet to do more testing so I've been fishing for lake trout and bass on the weekends instead of rocket launch tests.

I store R-candy in grains inside a sealed pail with desiccant. Damp rid works well for me as it is more hygroscopic then R-candy.

-dag

So dag, the idea is to have something that is more hygroscopic than what we storing?

So would placing some sugar in a paper bag work?

So dag, the idea is to have something that is more hygroscopic than what we storing?