APC Forum

Diatomaceous Earth (DE) for effects

oldguy

gallery_10713_78_69121.jpg

Diatomaceous Earth (DE) is comprised of microscopic amorphous silica exoskeletons of Diatom’s.

The typical chemical composition of average raw oven dried diatomaceous earth powder is around 80 to 90% amorphous silica with 2 to 4% alumina and 0.5 to 2% iron oxide.

Pictures of Diatom’s http://www.cosmiclight.com/imagegalleries/sem1b.htm

All about Diatom’s http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diatom

Because of DE’s light weight and unique hollow porous structure it is used extensively as a “carrier” for slow release application of fertilizers, pesticides, chemicals etc.

Admittedly, I am an utter novice in pyrotechnics‘.

But, it would seem to me DE could intimately mixed to fill its pores with various composition components.

Then be utilized as a carrier to create something on the order of a “sparking haze” or “lightening fog” effect.

I would speculate a ball mill without balls in it would do the good job of mixing & filling DE with whatever one might want.

Or, am I just day dreaming? :rolleyes:

If they are 90% silica it seems to me that they would burn along with the carrying composition, not survive the burn and be dispersed into the air like microstars. I believe diatomaceous earth is used in some primes, possibly as a replacement for straight silica. It's a good thought though. I like new ideas to get my mind working, even if they aren't possible.

Not possible? It may be.

I have used DE as a filler in flares to good effect.

I have also used it as the abrasive in friction ignition comps

Nearly all intact diatoms range in size from about 2 microns to about 500 microns (0.5 mm), or about the width of a human hair.

So, on average these things are tiny.

For giggles, I am going to fool around with it more.

You never know, a "sparking haze" or "lightening fog" effect may be possible with DE.