APC Forum

Web Hosting Services for Photography?

lucast123

I am in the process of trying to get my photography business online. I am a complete novice at working with setting up websites. I can be creative if I have templates to work with. I have been doing some research on sites. However, the deeper I get into researching them, the more difficult they seem.

Does anyone out there have any suggestions as to the fastest, easiest way to get a site up?

I can use all the help I can get by way of suggestions.

Look up Blue Voda. They have a great easy to use website builder you can download for free. Blue Voda has a server of their own that could host your site, but from what I hear it's very crappy. They built the program and put some minor roadblocks into place so it couldn't be used with other servers, but they're easy to work around. I can help you out if you go that route.

If you look in the signature of Sidewinder, one of the administrators here you'll see he has some connections with a hosting company. I'm sure he would appreciate the business.

One of the reasons it's so confusing choosing a host is because anyone can be one for a few hundred bucks. Therefore a lot of people set up servers just as a hope for some income on the side. Because of the variety of people out there hosting websites it's best if you can find one recommended by others.

I myself use a host that's worked out well for me for the last 8 months or so and would be glad to set you up there if you don't use Sidewinders service for whatever reason. (By the way, the only reason I do not use him as a host is because I did not know about it until I had already worked a deal out with my current host.)