APC Forum

6 inch stars and shells

TrueBluePyro

Im not sure where to put this, but I'll put it here because I am a newbie at making 6" shells.

The effect I'm looking for is a red that has a silver streamer behind it.

This is my plan for it:

I have firesmiths 3/4" "multi use pump" which can make stars that have a "cavity" and that is meant so that you can press another star compostion in there.

I want to use the Ruby Red forumlua and for the silver I want to use a "parlon bound" comp.

For burst I will be using BP on cotton seed and a booster using slow flash.

My questions are:

• Is 3/4" to big for 6" shells
  • How many wraps of gum tape is recommended
  • I think a booster is recommended, so how much would you say?

I know the most I can do is test my self, which is what I do all the time, but this is a 6" shell and I thought it might pay to read as much as I can and get any advice that people could throw at me.

I'm sorry if I sound stupid, but I kinda want to get this right, in the end it could turn out to be a nice effect first time round...maybe,, will see.

Much appreciated,

TBP.

Edited by TrueBluePyro

With space to put 180 - 200 stars in the shell yes I appreciate asking questions before committing to that much work for a test! 3/4 is a good start for a 6" shell. Go through all the compatibilities before you settle on comps.

I have heard that you don't need a booster for shells 5inch and above. Just the total volume of the shell provides enough room for more than enough BP on a carrier. It also depends on what kind of break you're going for. I have never made one, personally, but I have read a bit about them. Pianomistro has a 6inch shell tut on pyroguide. That looks like a good one; it also just uses BP on carrier for burst, with just a bit of whistle for booster.