APC Forum

Multi-Break Shells and Spolettes

usatrapper

I am currently working on a 3'' double break can shell. How ever I have no experience with spolettes and was wondering if you guys could give me an explanation on how they work, why they are used, and most importantly how to make them.

-Thanks for reading!

A spolette is a tube rammed with a few inches of black powder, since its basicly a solid fuel grain, the ignition from your first break lights the end of the spolette burning for one end to the other.

I'm not sure why they are used, and I dont think they are used very much for smaller shells (they might be used for 4"+) but for a three inch you should be better off with some time fuse (which is a spolette if you think about it)

To make them you need a strong tube, fairly fine black powder, and somthing to ram/press with. And then you just put a small amount of blackpowder in your tube - you will want to ram in small increments to get a solid burn time - ram and repeat. you also will want to time your spolettes before you trust them in a shell, just put about an inch of blackpowder in and burn it, then take down the time it took to burn and if it's the right speed your good to go, if it's too fast pack a little more BP into the next one and time that, and if it's too short, don't put as much BP in the next one, ;) as simple as that.

It's simply just a time delay before ignition of some device. I always use spolettes because I think they work better than visco. They hold up better against the pull of the spiking too, which is important. You're gonna have to do some experimenting here. For me an inch lasts about 3 seconds. It will depend on the burn rate of your bp.

Ok I see, but will I be able to reuse the tubes after timing?

I doubt it, the inside will be pretty burnt out. You can roll you own really strong tubes with gummed tape, you can find it at craft stores dirt cheap, and it's simple enough that you don't really need to reuse the tubes.