APC Forum

Presses

Updup

Hey everyone, i'm new to the whole pyro thing but i want to exersize alot of safety, i'm i'm about to go away from blackpowder type comps to make comps with metels in them (mainly for fountians) but dont want to be ramming metels, do any of ya'll know where i could get a cheap press (of anytype)? and how much force do i need? is 1.5 tonns good?

Cheers [=

Updup

Hey everyone, i'm new to the whole pyro thing but i want to exersize alot of safety, i'm i'm about to go away from blackpowder type comps to make comps with metels in them (mainly for fountians) but dont want to be ramming metels, do any of ya'll know where i could get a cheap press (of anytype)? and how much force do i need? is 1.5 tonns good?

Cheers [=

Updup

There is a whole thread on presses in the rocketry section... 1.5ton is pretty weak, I'd start with a 6ton jack at least.

About the absolute cheapest ready-made press is going to cost about $100 before shipping. They have "A" frame and "H" frame presses, and if you are going to buy one, consider that one day you might be pressing giant rockets, so be sure it has the stroke and size you need. It is possible to make a press, but to get into the heavier pressing regimes requires some very stout steel framing, and in the end, it is sometimes cheaper to buy a Chinese press ready-made.

For benchtop, light work, a car bottle and a lighter framing can be put together pretty cheaply, but keep in mind the power of the jack - the frame needs to be REALLY stout. Maybe 1" dia. threaded rod, plus a few square-sectioned tube steel members.