APC Forum

End burner vs Core burner

Pyropow3r

Ive been doing pyrotechnics for at least 5 years now and have been specializing in mostly rockets. you name it ive made it end burners core burners black powder rockets sugar rockets r-candy rockets etc. But mainly i am focused on end burners i dont know why i just like em (maybe because of the long burn time). I have done at least a 1000+ launches with end burners.

But up until know i am starting to ask my self this question are end burners really better then core burners ? Well they must be because all the big names like quest and Estes use end burners right? Well i dont know

So i want to know what you guys think are end burners better than core burners. tell me what you think or know from your past experiences.

So hopefully this constructive argument can lead us all in the right direction in rocketry.

I want to know which of the two are better in terms of performance labour and dont forget the fun factor.

I'm in endburners to, always have been. I compare it with a drag race, a big powerful motor against a regular motor. The powerful motor is the fastest but it burns all his fuel in 100 meters but the regular motor can do hundreds of kilometers.

So I use a small core with super fast black powder

Hm, and I thought everyone was in making core-motors with slow fuel?

Edited by Aneantis

But up until know i am starting to ask my self this question are end burners really better then core burners ? Well they must be because all the big names like quest and Estes use end burners right?

End burners are used because of their reliability and ease of manufacture, fast bp pressed into a tube, 2 drifts needed. While with core burners, the smallest thing such as slightly different mesh size of added charcoal can cause a CATO if your rockets are on the edge.