APC Forum

pyrotechnic accidents

Vrizla

Hey everyone

I have a few questions to ask about pyrotechnic accidents. I'm still fairly new to this hobby. I have spent a lot of time reading books and pdf files on pyro projects. I have focused most of my reading on safety procedures. I was just about to stock up on supplies when I stumbled across a couple of posts on here that scared the pants off me. I hope I'm not opening any old wounds but I'm really curious to find out what happened so someone else or I don't make the same mistake. The two posts I read were about Tad K and Jim Freman. The posts I read didn't state the cause of either accident just speculation, I was wondering if they are still unknown. I'm very concerned. I don't know if I want to pursue this hobby any further. I was thinking about going back to school to take up chemistry, but if a 6 time PGI grand master can have an accident anyone can. Again I'm sorry if I opened any old wounds, and my prayers go out to Tad k's family, but if anyone has details on what happened, please let me know

Edited by Vrizla

The actual cause of Tad K's accident was never resolved. The only witness to it, Tad, died from his burns within a day or two.

As to Jim Freeman's accident, I missed the last WPAG meet where it was said he was going to talk about it.

Perhaps a WPAG member can pitch in here?

Both incidents, however, point out the main reason why we stress Safety above all else. A moment of carelessness, a safety rule not followed to the letter, and sometimes just plain bad luck, can add up to a tragic accident.

But it's *VERY* seldom that accidents like these are caused by just *ONE* thing going wrong. It's almost always a combination of events.