APC Forum

Makeshift Flashbang?

Switch3Z

Hello everyone. I'm a Police Officer here in Georgia, and I have a love for very simple pyro. I'm not an expert by any means. I was curious about something, however. When we clear abandon houses, or at alarm calls, we never use anything but a flashlight and our guns, unless of course, it's a felony in progress. Now, I started thinking about it a few weeks ago....what if we had small, reliable, and CHEAP makeshift versions of a flashbang grenade (on a much smaller scale) to throw into a window before we enter these places? A flashbang grenade is certainly way to expensive to be using for "small-deal house clearings" 2-3 times a night.

So I guess my question would be, what's the best way to create a small, extremely loud blast with minimal flame and debris? I don't want anything catching on fire, but I want something effective I might be able to create, and keep in my cruiser if needed.

MAXIMUM:

Flash

Loud Bang

MINIMUM:

Debris

Flame

Price

Effort needed to build multiple items

I know this sounds extremely odd, but anyone in law enforcement might agree it could be useful in certain situations. I'm thinking with my wallet here as well.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Switch3Z

A small 'bermuda' firecracker with 5 gram (or less) tunderbolt flash. It gives a loud report with a very bright flash. And with a bermuda you don't have much debris, just some tape and paper flying arround.

héhé indeed its very odd to tell this to an officer.

Tunderbolt, photoflash

(used in flashbombs in ww2)

percent component

40.00% Potassium Perchlorate

34.00% Magnesium (100 mesh)

26.00% Aluminium (dark, pyro)

Because it has alu & mg it has a great light out-put

Edited by Aneantis

It's amazing how you guys know all about this stuff. I never did very well in chemistry. I'll stick to the simple stuff unless you can break it down into kindergarten terms. :P

I'll try to look for those, it sounds exactly like what I'm looking for.