APC Forum

Checking for Ammonium Perchlorate

Mumbles

I know this is the kind of thing people would look to me to answer, but I wanted to run some ideas past everyone.

So, I made two compositions last fall to be cut into stars. Something ended up happening, and it got left as dry composition. I am going to use it now, and I'll be damned if I can remember what the formulas are. It's something I've never used before. One is definitely blue as it has copper oxychloride or carbonate in it. That could easily be checked for by adding a few drops of HCl to a sample. The other has some redgum in it. My main concern is that there is AP in there, which obviously brings with it priming issues. One is definitely blue, and the other I think is purple. I have a pretty good idea what the blue formula is, but the other is dicy. I suppose I should just burn a little bit to get the color at least.

I think if I just add NaOH solution to a sample I could notice some ammonia being produced. What does everyone else think?

What about mixing a very small sample of those starcompo's with some Mg, and wet it?

If it will react very soon then the possibility that there is some ammon perc in it is very huge I guess.

Not very reliable, but it's something ;).

Try forming a copper tetraamino complex by dissolving a star in water and adding some soluble copper salt to it. It's a pretty reliable and clear indicator for ammonium compounds. Please take note that the compound formed is pretty likely to be an explosive, so don't dry it.

If you don't know which color a star is, just burn one and you'll know :) .

Mumbles,

Press a small lance of each comp and burn them to find out what color each is. To avoid priming issues, just use the pinball prime that Lloyd has been talking about on Passfire.

Pinball prime:

Potassium Perchlorate - 75

Charcoal - 15

Red Gum - 10

Dextrin - +6.25

All rough; no milling.

For tough-to-light comps add:

American Dark Aluminum - +6.25

or

MgAl (-325m) - +6.25