APC Forum

Safty Mixing Chemicals

JMA375HH

Hello everyone here in my great state of Alaska winters are extremely long. I was watching a show on the Discovery channel and they had some people shooting at exploding targets. It looks like allot of good winter fun so I purchased their E Book that explains the process and ingredients. They have a total of three recipes the first one being the safest Ammonia nitrate and Indian alum powder. that are mixed together and then sealed in a paper or plastic container and then used as the target shot at 100 yards. when hit with a high velocity bullet they explode, big bang and smoke. So my question is just how safe is it really providing that one follows all instructions and mixing measurements. I have no experience in any of this area what so ever. But if this can be done safely I would like to try this in a very small way so I can have some winter fun on the ranch. You can see what I am talking about on you tube just type in exploding targets. You can purchase these on line however there pretty expensive and I can't afford that kind of fun. But if I can Safely make my own with out hurting or killing my self and save some money that would be great. any info would be great I would not try this with out knowing what I was really dealing with, so that's why I am asking you guys for your input. Thanks you Again. JMA375HH B) Edited by JMA375HH

This is undoubtedly the safest binary target mixture you can experiment with.

As Daniel Tanner's videographer (he is the patent holder of Tannerite) I've had some exposure to binary exploding target mixtures--and for his instructional video we demonstrate how safe this mixture is.

You can burn it, stick a fuse in it, drop it, shoot at it with LPR rounds and nothing happens. It literally takes a supersonic impact from an HPR round to detonate it. (Blasting caps work, too).