APC Forum

Eye protection.

andyboy

Well, learned a few things today that I wanted to add. I am not experienced with metal working so these are a few tips to those just getting in to it:

1. Wear eye-protection when using an angle grinder at all times.

2. Wear special welding goggles when using a welder (and burning magnesium, titanium and other high candela comps).

I didn't and now I'm having a hard time seeing the monitor in front of me. My eyes burn like hell from the metal thats enbedded in my eyes and I have large white spots appearing everywhere.

Anyone think of any more times one should use eye-protection?

Well, learned a few things today that I wanted to add. I am not experienced with metal working so these are a few tips to those just getting in to it:

1. Wear eye-protection when using an angle grinder at all times.

2. Wear special welding goggles when using a welder (and burning magnesium, titanium and other high candela comps).

I didn't and now I'm having a hard time seeing the monitor in front of me. My eyes burn like hell from the metal thats enbedded in my eyes and I have large white spots appearing everywhere.

Anyone think of any more times one should use eye-protection?

Ouch. I got a touch of that "flash-burn" once working around my bro using a MIG welder. Not fun. Might want to hit the Dr's for a good wash-out.

Any time anything is being cut, beat, burnt, broken, loaded, cleaned.... just about no BAD time for it I suppose. And I'm WAAAY to slack about it.

Well, maybe not during sex...but..then again....

Edited by Richtee

Arc eye sucks, feels like someone is pouring sand in your eye. Had it happen when I flipped up my welding helmet visor to get my bearings and brushed the tip of a 5mm electrode on my bit of plate I was working on.

Was running those rods flat out at 200+ amps, was one hell of a flash.