APC Forum

Hello, Im a newb.

Imanewb

Hello, I am new to the forums and the world of pyrotechnics, and I came across this website in hopes of clearing the fog that becomes law issues and injury. A side to note to the admin and mods of this forum, I plan at the moment to keep this account temporary, though that is subject to change, I will inform you of my departure and you may delete it.

I don't want to overwhelm anyone with questions, so I'll start with a story. (Yay, story time :huh: )

I am an airsofter. Not a backyard airsofter, but patron of the sport. I have made a simple Potassium Nitrate and Sucrose, smoke bomb with enjoyable results. I have this insane will to make and SELL, smoke bombs and possibly other pyrotechnics effects. I have researched a BATF license, but that is still shady in my mind. Please, any help, tips, anything would be greatly appreciated. And don't worry, I understand there is a great deal of complexity to this situation, I'll just have to try and absorb as much as possible.

Again, Thanks guys,

The Newb

Edit: By the way, if this is in the wrong section, mods, feel free to move.

Edited by Imanewb

The information you seek, with respect to exact laws and so forth, won't be found here. This Forum is geared towards the amateur and hobby user. We have information that you will find useful, but nowhere near the amount you will need.

I can tell you this much, though. In order to SELL smoke bombs and other pyrotechnics, the sheer number of hoops you'll have to jump through will be staggering. Everything you make will considered "Class B" material, which will require any purchaser to hold the proper type of BATF license. Making items to sell to the general public (Class C) will require an even bigger set of hoops, because your devices will have to be tested and certified and a whole lot more.