APC Forum

Commercial airfloat

KAP

I am new to ballmilling, but the bp I made with standard airfloat is said to be less than desirable for lift and burst? Is it also bad for endburner engines? I also noticed a difference when I grain it. It seems to burn a little better?

I asked questions, sorry you dont understand.

It will not work well in an enburner motor, but will be quite serviceable using standard cored rocket tooling. If you add a few percent whistle mix, you can use it for endburners.

Is it also bad for endburner engines?

thats a pretty specific question when we haven't even seen the powder burn. I suggest just trying it. doesn't take much to make a small end burner.

As for the slow powder, have you got the right ratios? And are you ballmilling it enough?

I asked questions, sorry you dont understand.

I am new to ballmilling, but the bp I made with standard airfloat is said to be less than desirable for lift and burst?

Thats not a question?

Is it also bad for endburner engines?

That is a question, very vague seeing as you have given us no information?

I also noticed a difference when I grain it. It seems to burn a little better?

Thats not a question?

Airfloat charcoal, charcoal and sulphur do not simply add to become good BP. No mater how fine the powder it is still a slow green mix until it is incorporated properly. - Traditionally this is done damp to reduce friction and increase fine particle mixing.

Milled powder is then pressed into hard dense discs (called pucks - like a hockey puck!) The discrete but intimately mixed ingredient crystals are pressed into close contact. These pucks can be stored as only a fire hazard.

Corning the pucks ( breaking them to granules ) is what makes BP. Fast BP is pucks broken into really fine granules -almost dust. Slow BP is the larger granules from the corning.

Commercial BP comes in "grades" these are grain sizes, from 6F to 6C