APC Forum

Carcinogens

h0lx

I'd like to dedicate this thread to avoiding carcinogens, what not to use/smell of be careful with. And not just a list on carcinogens also like the products that might contain carcinogens, like solvent Acetone can contain Benzene, which is a known carcinogen.

In pyro it's impossible to avoid carcinogens. The main problem with them is repeated extented exposure. Acetone isn't really a problem unless you delebratly inhale it multiple times a day for a few years, or you with in an Acetone plant with no sort of respiratory protection whatsoever. Personally, I'm not scared of carcinogens. The exposure in pyro is generally relativly short, and not on a regular basis(except maybe for CS2, which is formed in BP smoke).

In short, you have a better chance to get cancer by being outside than from pyro, at least at the level most of us are on. If I was a professional manufacturer, more safety precautions would of course be taken. Though it should be noted, that a lot of pyros have unusually long life spans if they die of natural causes. I do not count in those killed by explosions, or poisonings, or the like.

• 2 weeks later...
Just a quick question do those white dusk masks offer any protection at all against carcinogens? I doubt they would be able to because the gas molecules would pass through it but would it be better than nothing?

It depends on the chemical. Things like asbestos, barium and other particulates, I would say mostly yes. For things like acetone or benzene, not a chance.

The only chem I ever have a problem with is Potassium permanganate cause it can get so air born and its sweet tasting and fills your throught fast.

So wear something over you mouth and nose before using it.

Chances are you are exposed to everything, but KMnO4 is the only one that is a fast acting irritant, or you can see/taste it. I had the same problem when I ground it.

• 3 weeks later...