APC Forum

Measuring out chemicals

hutp

Ok now i am new with doing pyro math but i usualy just use the information that is given to me in grams but i want to know how to take the chemical formula ad transfer it to grams. say that i wanted to make 1oo Grams of green stars what would i need and how many grams would i need??

Thansk for any help!

Ok I don't know to ratios for green stars but find that and my it so it adds up to 100 grams total of everything you need. I don't think its that hard but thats just me.

Here's an example with a green star comp.

Barium nitrate....................................28.3

Potassium Perchlorate.............................47.2

Parlon............................................4.7

Red Gum...........................................14.2

Soluble Glutinous Rice Starch.....................5.6

So for 100g

Barium nitrate....................................28.3g

Potassium Perchlorate.............................47.2g

Parlon............................................4.7g

Red Gum...........................................14.2g

Soluble Glutinous Rice Starch.....................5.6g

28.3+47.2+4.7+14.2+5.6=100

Is this what you're talking about?

Not all formulas are designed to add up to 100%. For example, many older compositions are recorded by parts, not specific weight. I'm not necessarily endorsing this formula - I picked it at random...it's a case in point...

Yellow star #3

Preparation: Bind with alcohol.

Potassium chlorate................................8

Sodium oxalate.....................................4

Shellac powder......................................2

Dextrin.................................................1

Here the ingredients add up to 15; so if you want ~100g multiply all the components by 7 and convert to grams:

Potassium chlorate................................56g

Sodium oxalate....................................28g

Shellac powder......................................14g