APC Forum

Course MgAl/Potassium Nitrate composition heating up

Kalifireworks

Posted (edited)

Hello everyone,

lately I have been confronted with a issue that i would never expect, just for context I have some decent knowledge in this hobby.

The Issue is I have been Developing some Comps and came up with a Composition consisting of the following:

x% Potassium Nitrate

x% Charcoal

x% Sulfur

x% MgAl 40-70 Mesh (pretty course)

x% Dextrin

This composition has been wetted with 3% Water and pressed with arround 7500 PSI into paper tubes. Once pressed they gradualy get more and more hot, until Probably arround 50°C (122 Fahrenheit) when it stops and cools down again, I didnt notice any Ammonia smell only a slight sulfury paper smell.

Same issue also happened with a very similar comp with the addition of Iron oxide and a bit finer 70 Mesh magnalium (different vendor). This time wetted with 2% moisture, they got significantly less hot but definately noticably warm (Measured 28°C (83 Fahrenheit)).

Really confused and scared to keep using this comp in this Setup Im hoping somebody here has a Idea what could cause this reaction, litterature has told me that MgAl is less prone to reactions with water than Magnesium or Aluminium. Especially since there is only 2-3% water in this mix.

Is it due to the Course size and high pressure and thus high density? 

Edited by Kalifireworks

Sounds like a typical nitrate/Al reaction.

Where are you located & what's the source(s) of your MgAl? If the alloy is Al-heavy (like aircraft MgAl...) and not the 'typical' 50:50 used in fireworking, it may be more prone to nitrate reactions in the presence of water.

Heating up is rather surprising given the low concentration of added water. Boric acid addition impairs nitrate-Al reactions but may directly attack Mg. In a small test batch, if adding boric acid 1% stops the comp from heating up during/after pressing, then you might infer that your MgAl is Al-heavy.

Just spitballing here.