APC Forum

Am I screwing up or is Woodys tooling out of spec?

FieryCreations

Bought a nozzled core burner spindle and tube support. Using NEPT tubes. Very first two rockets The tube support started widening despite being properly tightened and pressed at the appropriate poundage included on their pressing chart. 

I didn’t want to waste my first rocket, so I took it out of the damage tube support and tried finishing it by hand.  Didn’t realize the tube had massively shrink from the support widening so my rammer impacted the spindle and damaged it.  

When I asked Caleb about replacing the spindle, he replied no to a replacement and said to send it in for repair. After all the waiting I decided to just purchase a new one and waited for it to come.  The very first rocket I pressed I was damned careful not to pass the pass line after what just happened, and it still immediately got stuck. 

i’m new at this but I have done a massive amount of homework. Am I missing something and screwing up? Or is my tooling out of spec? The clay nozzle didn’t even press. Once I removed the support it fell apart and I was left with this mess  

IMG_7544.jpeg

Edited by FieryCreations

I seriously doubt the tooling is out of spec. Lots of questions here. Seems unlikely that normal pressing forces would split the tube support. Tooling looks right from the picture although I am skeptical of that nozzle geometry. A black powder rocket of this size you should make by hand to start because it is more forgiving and easier to monitor the process. Good luck!

30 minutes ago, pyrokid said:

I seriously doubt the tooling is out of spec. Lots of questions here. Seems unlikely that normal pressing forces would split the tube support. Tooling looks right from the picture although I am skeptical of that nozzle geometry. A black powder rocket of this size you should make by hand to start because it is more forgiving and easier to monitor the process. Good luck!