APC Forum

Slow flash to break a 3" ball shell.

crumbbum25

I am very new to this hobby and have mainly read/ watched Ned Gorski's stuff at skylighter and on YouTube. I've made pretty good black powder and will be making zinc stars. Ned used a "slow flash" booster in the tutorial and I can see why. Basically, I'm leery of flash, borderline scared.

Perusing this site I stumbled upon the tpa flash thread. Some of the posts make me not so scared of it. Would that work too boost a shell in the way a little slow flash would? Or is there a better (safer) option?

You might wait till you get good experience.

Starting to make flash at begineer level is not recommended.

I assumed that too. I would rather stay away from it, honestly. Is there something that I could use to break a shell harder that's not flash?

My understanding is that 3" shells should break well with plain 4FA, below 3" a booster may be needed, bigger than 3" then an inert filler may help tame the break, which may be needed if the break looks big but sparse. That filler may be most things, rice hulls to Rice Krispies. I have burst a big shell with two packets of Rice Krispies breakfast cereal and 3 pounds of meal powder thrown in over the Krispies, the Krispies hold everything in place the meal powder spreads everything out and lights all the inserts etc.

Advice in pyro is like an STD, you may not want it, but you're going to get it from everyone if you ask!  (Kidding) but in seriousness, lots of people have their own experiences with what works and what doesn't, you get the pleasure of sorting through and seeing what works for you.....

In that spirit, here is my 2¢ to further add to your confusion (and if you're afraid of flash....GREAT!, then you're more likely to ask some questions and do some reading before trying it out, and will hopefully be better prepared on how to do so more safely)