APC Forum

DIY Dynamite plunger/blasting machine

TXpyro

I've always been fascinated with dynamite plungers/blasting machines and I've wanted one for a while for setting off fireworks. 

The only problem is I'm not very good with electronics. I'd like it to be mechanical and I'm thinking of using an old motor attached to a plunger of some sort to generate the electrical current, volt, spark, or whatever it is that ignites the e-match.

I just don't know how I would go about setting it up. I started off as a woodworker so I got the got the wood box figured out. I've also recently picked up welding.

I just need some tips guys. 

Are there any women on this forum?

I've looked into building one before but never got around to it. For the design I was looking at building it would need a dynamo that will generate the required voltage that has a shaft that can fit (or can be adapted to fit) a bicycle freewheel mechanism too for a chain to go to another a bicycle sprocket that is hooked up to a shaft with a pinion gear on the other end. The pinion gear that is matched to the rack that would be what the handle hooks up to.

I wanted the freewheel mechanism so that it would not generate voltage while lifting the handle. Also required would be a bearing to mount the shaft to the interior of the box. 

4 hours ago, TXpyro said:

I've always been fascinated with dynamite plungers/blasting machines and I've wanted one for a while for setting off fireworks. 

The only problem is I'm not very good with electronics. I'd like it to be mechanical and I'm thinking of using an old motor attached to a plunger of some sort to generate the electrical current, volt, spark, or whatever it is that ignites the e-match.

I just don't know how I would go about setting it up. I started off as a woodworker so I got the got the wood box figured out. I've also recently picked up welding.

I just need some tips guys. 

Are there any women on this forum?