APC Forum

Dextrin for black match question

BingBong

I don't have an oven but I need some dextrin to make black match. Can I just use hot water to dissolve the corn starch before putting it in the black powder slurry? Or alternatively, just boil the flour and then add it to the slurry? What are my options?

So I am still new at this so don’t just take my advice at face value. But I  have had similar issues in my testing I could not get flour past stars to work at all it just makes a messy un pumpable paste that gets on everything. now there may be better ways to get it to work but I have not found them. Now before I say this the quality of the dextrin you get from this is prety horrendous compared to the real stuff but, if you have a pan with a lid you can slow cook the corn starch in a pan, the slower and lower the better until golden brown it’s basically the same presses just less effective and easier to accomplish, I used this in my stars and was able to get something that would fall apart if squeezed but would stay together alright. Hope this helps🙂

You can use corn starch the same way laundry starch is used to make B.P. slurry and make respectable match. (Laundry Starch and Corn Starch for cooking are supposedly the same thing according to several people, one of which who got the company to confirm they were the same).

Using wheat paste (boiled flour paste) with stars works great for Aluminum stars especially (that have that greasy coating, like Bright Al), provided you use some dextrin as well. The wheat paste helps with forming the loaf to cut stars, the dextrin works to make them rick hard once dry (dextrin in solution works best for this in my experience, so it isn't competing with moisture in the boiled flour paste, in order to activate).