APC Forum

Hello to everyone!

Pyrogeezer

Hello Everybody!

I’m new to the Forum and would like to introduce myself. They refer to me as Doc. I have been in Pyrotechnics for 57 years and have loved every minute of it. I am a retired Chemical/Professional Engineer by trade and have spent most of my professional career working for and consulting with many of the major US fireworks manufacturing companies. I have made practically every type of Italian “B” stile fireworks (that were all handmade) up until about 2015, when I was forced to retire due to a back injury. This didn’t stop me from working in my machine shop fabricating pyrotechnic machines and things. My contribution to the pyrotechnics industry is that I have built more than 25 commercial Visco fuse machines that most of which are being used today here in the U.S. to produce American Visco fuse.

I have been following the APC Forum for quite a while now and decided to sign up. Please bear with me I'm not very computer savvy, I hope I'm doing this correctly!!! 

You probably wonder why a 76 year old Pyro Geezer would join the Forum, well, I think it’s the best site online to learn from and see what the new generation is doing, and everyone is extremely nice. There is a tremendous amount of new developments in the business and am happy to see so many young people interested in the science and art.

I’m looking forward to learning from you guys and help in reference to old school stuff if I can.

Hi I’m also new to this forum but I have a chemicals question. I live in alaska and I am at the point of graduating potacium nitrate and sulfer but I’m haveing trouble with getting stuff up here any advice? Thanks=)