APC Forum

White Flare Composition

PyroPT

Hello,

I'm new on this forum and besides the fact that I'm an old-time pyrothechnics enthusiast, just in the last couple of months I started to try a few things.

I have successefully made some basic pyro effects with simple compositions, I've made yellow / orange flares, tiger tails, and gold fountains , always using the same chemicals in different ratios (Potassium Nitrate, Sulfur, Charcoal, Sodium bicarbornate, dextrin).

I love pyrothechnics, but I'm a cautious person. Before I started working with BP compositions, I studied a lot and made sure all possible security measures were in place to start using the chemicals together.

I want to make bright flares with other colors than yellow / orange, like bright white, for example, but I know that to achieve what I want, I need to add Aluminium or Magnesium to the comp,. I've readed a lot regarding Metallic fueled compositions, and a few pieces of informations are incongruent and not perfectly elucidative, so my question is very simple.

I know that the power and dangerous of a flash composition can be influenced by many factors like, the fineness of the chemicals, ratios, etc., but what can I do to make a white flare whithout ending up with a stick of "pure" unstable flash powder? I´m my workspace I have a plan to minimize the risks of self ignition caused by sparks, friction, static, my main concern is the comp itself, so in terms of that what can I do to make the flares with a less instable composition?

I was thinking inof something like this:

KNO3 72%

Al 18%

S 9%

Vaseline 1%

Regards,

Edited by PyroPT

Flare consists of hollow cylindrical tube in which pyrotechnic charge of non- flashing, non -exploding type is densely filled.

Pure flash materials as mentioned by you might explodes.

There should be coarse metal particals to be added ( like magnelium, magnesium is highly reactive and unstable if it is uncoated).