APC Forum

Modular Rocket Design

ollie366

I've been making 3/4" ID paper tube rockets for a few years, using R Candy or pressed BP. They work well but building them takes quite a bit of time and I sometimes got inconsistent results. With a long tube, I find it difficult to make a decent nozzle with convergent and divergent sections before or after the fuel is in place. With R Candy, pouring in the melted fuel can result in small voids with inconsistent burning due to the long tube. Then there's the issue of getting in a good sealed delay charge and ejection charge.

My approach was to make 3 separate sections- nozzle, fuel and recovery. Since each section is separate, I can make consistent pieces. The key is to tightly connect each section so the assembly stays together through the flight and landing. To take care of this, I use 2" wide maximum thickness aluminum tape with 5 wraps around the tube at the section joints. The added weight is not significant. Each tube section end is carefully cut to 90 degrees so the section ends align. At the nozzle-fuel joint, I apply a small bead of high temperature RTV. It works!

WRT to nozzle construction, the tube is 1-1/2" long and is made with Rocktite with a steel washer imbedded in the throat (1/4 to 3/8" hole). I use a #3 cake frosting tip with a light coating of silicone grease to form the divergent end. The convergent inlet is made using a 1/2" twist drill moved around in the Rocktite as it is hardening. I make 4 at a time.