APC Forum

Adding Titanium to BP NC Ematch Mix

thehole

Making a very simple ematch dip mix since it's my first time.

I've read that the proper black powder & nitrocellulose mix ratio by weight is 70% BP to 30% NC lacquer (which itself is 10% ping pong ball).

I want to add titanium to this mix to ensure a hot enough reaction, but not sure how much to start with.
What's a ballpark ratio for this?

Thank you

Edit: I'm using those orange ematches from China, without pyrogen on the end. So a very tiny ga nichrome, maybe 45?

Edited by thehole

I'd be curious where you found ping pong balls that were made of NC now a days...

What size Titanium are you using.

To your question:

- When adding metals to pyrotechnic compositions like stars / gerbs, 5% - 10% is a good starting point.

-where did you find those percentages for ematch pyrogen? (I'm not criticizing , I'm truly just curious) I'd imagine really boils down to whatever amount gets you the consistency to dip your uncoated ematch.

- if the B.P. / Ping Pong ball mixture isn't sensitive enough for whatever you are using them for, you may have to follow a more traditional ematch 1st fire / 2nd fire method / formula.

• Like 1

Thanks for the reply!

There's a local pingpong supplies shop (seriously) that had packs of Donic-Schildkrot coloured NC balls on sale.

I figured 325 mesh would be a good size for the titanium, thinking it will react more quickly, but they do offer different sizes if you think bigger might be better?

This is where I found those percentages: https://pyrodata.com/definitions/Electrical-Ignitor
It does seem like way too much BP, but I am new to this.

IMO I think the Ti you have will work fine for the purpose you are going for, but if you make a more sensitive pyrogen, fine Ti like you have can increase friction seneitivity (just a risk to be aware of).