APC Forum

I want to slow down my copper oxide thermite reaction

Uarbor

Almost a year ago I purchased a nice supply of copper oxide and 9 Micron atomized aluminum. I was making reactive targets for 22. It was a lot of fun. But I'm trying something new now want to slow the reaction way down and attempt to use it to melt some copper which will be cast into a mold. I have been an electrician for 35 years and copper has been a part of my life everyday. I want to make something out of copper using Pyro. I do have some experience with cad welding of electrical grounding wires using something looking extremely similar to Copper thermite it seems as though the granules are much larger though. I was wondering if I could granulate in the copper oxide and if that would slow things down. I was wondering if anybody had any experience with such a thing? All comments and suggestions are welcome thank you in advance

I tried that stuff once... about 10 grams on an iron plate. Good thing I used a long sparkler fuse. It self contained and bounced the plate about 10 foot. Be careful...

On edit.. won’t copper melt at like charcoal temps? Heap a pile around a metal can full of scrap...

Edited by Richtee

Granulating the oxide will certainly help. Another way to slow it down is to use larger aluminium (as large as 100 microns is used for iron thermite) and to heavily imbalance the reaction by using an excess of copper oxide. But none of this would likely provide you with a nice pool of clean melted copper.

Just use a furnace and melt copper if want to cast. Copper is notorious to give ugly casts with lots of porosity. Bronze solves this issue.

Edited by a_bab
  • Like 1

Copper thermites are notorious for being sensitive and likely to go high order.

that was the whole idea with the reactive Target. They were a lot of fun Edited by Uarbor