APC Forum

End burning or Core burnign BP Rockets?

Xrayelite1

Hello everyone.

I'm new to model rocketry but ever since I bought a kit the other weekend and flew my first rocket I'm hooked! I started to build my next rocket from scratch (no kit) and doing the same for the motor. Regarding black powder as a propellant, what type of motor is best and why?

- End burner

or

- Core burner?

Thanks team.

"Knowledge is the true currency and prize in life"

Edited by Xrayelite1

In my opinion and only that!

Milled and corned dust (about 160 mesh) is best for end burning rockets and very small core burners (less than half inch tube bore).

If you look in Ron Lancaster's book ( Fireworks Principles and Practice ) (available on Abe books) he has a scheme using BP and added BP ingredients to slow powder down for larger tube sizes.

It depends on what your aims are and what efforts you are ready to take.

Do you want to invest in a ball mill, do you have a place to operate it safely?

Do you have access to good charcoal or can you make it yourself?

Or as an alternative: Is whistlemix an option for you? Do have access to perchlorate?

If not, stick to long spindled coreburners. Everything else needs high quality fuels to operate properly.

If it's no problem for you, endburners become an option. Not for lifting high loads, but for a more suitable scalespeed and the looks, long burntimes... personally I love EBs

• 1 month later...