APC Forum

Newbie advice, APC department

DrJones

True confession. I am a newbie here, with a history of 24 hours. Right away I searched the forums, read several post topics, and posted several questions of my own about germane matters. Then I introduced myself to the forum Grandmaster and Moderator, Chris--a true gentleman and experienced fireworker.

As Chris and I were privately conversing, my "silly questions" on various threads were getting responses. Sadly, those responses were absolutely irrelevant to the queries--in every case. None of the first three answers to any question gave even a clue to the answer sought (which, happily, sometimes did come later). I sensed and detected more than a few egos were alert and motivated to provide what they regarded as sensible, wise responses to my inquiries here. Those replies went along the lines of:

"Sparklers aren't real or serious pyrotechnics," "Pyrodex is useless in fireworks," "Asking about Sb2S3 shows me you're up to no good and making flash," "If you are 81-years-old and have worked with propellants and pyrotechics and explosives for decades, you would not ask such questions: I don't believe you are who you say you are," et cetera ad nauseum.

I just wanna say that I advise newbies here to put on your hazmat suit and goggles, insert ear protection, and beware before reading the answers you may get. Apparently "oldies" here have a thing about "flaming" newbies--I suppose that's in the spirit of the Green Man.

I would NOT expect a straight answer to any serious question on this forum right away. You may get some wisdom from a seasoned fireworker, eventually--they do read some of this drivel. Color me dampened and difficult to reignite.

Your mileage may vary.

Edward Jones
New Mexico

If you ask silly questions, do you really expect to get good information ?