APC Forum

blue High powered rockets

damnCATO

I once saw a guys website who built model rockets .. he stated that he used a composite propellants based on ammonium perchlorate . the picture of the rocket taking off had a brilliant long blue flame projecting out of it. i want to make this!

im getting kind of bored with sugar and BP propellants... im new to AP

and cant seem to find enough info on the web. can some of you veterans help me out with some formulas .. in laymans terms? like the binders .. what the hell is httb7635234??? i know thats not a real one but you know what i mean.

Also a nice list of all known and tested composite rocket fuels would be cool.

ive heard of potassium perchlorate based fuels .. anyone else?

are there any Ap fuels that i can press as a powder into my 1lb BP tooling or use on my strobe/whistle rocket tooling? casting is a pain in the arse.

Not sure if this is quite what you're looking for, but you may want to try this:

Blue strobe rocket propellant

Source: Greg Gallacci <psygreg@u.washington.edu

Comments: The GE silicone II is noted for having an ammonia-like odor, where the GE silicones smell more like vinegar. The dimensions of the rocket made with this propellant were 1 1/8 inch ID, with a 1/2 inch core.

Preparation: Mix the copper oxide, PVC and silicone first, in a plastic bag. Then mix in the ammonium perchlorate. The stuff is said to be somewhat crumbly, and presses well.

Ammonium perchlorate..............................63

Silicone II.......................................22

Copper(II)oxide...................................10

PVC...............................................5

There's also the added bonus of the fact that it strobes, and doesn't require obscure binders. I've also seen videos/webpages about High-powered rockets using an Ammonium Perchlorate based propellant with Copper Oxide included as a catalyst/colourant, but don't have any details/links at hand.