APC Forum

Epoxy-Oxidiser fuse

Ionforbes

So I tried making fuse using epoxy and string where I mix finely powdered KNO3 with epoxy resin into a slurry, and apply it to string in a similar way as blackmatch. However it only burns reluctantly so I guess I'll need potassium chlorate. I know chlorate based flash powders tend to explode if you store them too long, does the same apply for all chlorate mixtures? I live in a very rainy area so blackmatch is kind of pain to use so I need something water resistant like epoxy, but if it self-ignites after a week then obviously it's not worth it. Any info much appreciated!

Chlorates are generally prone to self ignition when mixed with things they shouldn't be like sulfur for instance. They also react strongly with organics. I am by no means an expert in them as I use them very little and then only in proven formulas. Be very careful mixing chlorates with organic substances without first researching what they will do. Chlorates mixed with certain things make explosives that are very sensitive. I do not have the answer you are looking for but you are barking up a dangerous tree.

• Like 1

Did you balance out the fuel value of the epoxy. With the available oxygen supplied by the nitrate ?

Have you considered applying a coating to your black match rather than mixing it into the slurry? Thin epoxy may work or something like pvc cement.

What sort of coating would you consider? Nitrocellulose lacqeur isn't available where I live (maybe it is but I don't know what it would be called). Could a coating also act as confinement and tuen it into quickmatch?

it's not really confinement that turns black match into quick match. the sleeve provides a channel for sparks to fly forward and quickly ignite match downstream.

eh...i guess in some sense it is confinement but if you wrap black match tightly, it's not that fast.

Edited by rogeryermaw