APC Forum

Whistle mix and strobe Rockets storage?

PyroBillandtheboys

So Im fairly new to the Rockets and pyro community. Ive already had good results with black powder rockets, sugar rockets and strobe rockets. Now getting into whistle rockets (sali) and the whistle mix. I notice that if my whistle mix has been sitting for a day or so, it needs mixed back up. Other wise its back to back CATOS.. also wondering the same with finished rockets like strobes and whistles.. if they sit for longer than a day they seem to just blow up instead. Even if I tape off the ends of the rocket and store in a bag with desiccant packs... am I doing something wrong??? I seem to have 6 Rockets work back to back perfectly. Then the next day the opposite. Any advice would be appreciated!

Edit* I will use the same supplies one day And make awesome strobe rockets and then do the same the next day with the same whistle mix And supplies. And get nothing but CATOS am I letting the mix sit too long? Is there a time limit

That is strange. I've used 2 year old whistle mix without issues. EG, mix was made and stored for 2 years before pressing into rockets. Not my favorite thing to store, but i've not had any issues with old mix and cato's. I'm just using the skylighter mix, nothing special or very hot. i store in a sealed plastic container.

• Like 1

@gdeputy did you have to mix the stuff up again before using it? How have your rockets been performing after holding for a few days.

No, its not settling out or anything like that, just open container and use. It is a little clumpy sometimes, but thats just due to the mineral oil content. When i make the rockets they've been used within 2 weeks max, but never had any issues with catos or performance.

I'm curious what you mean by having to mix it up again. Is your mix clumping up to the point you cant use it without breaking up the clumps, or...?