APC Forum

Where to get bentonite clay?

peterpyro

Im an amateur an trying to make rockets and I need a good bunch of clay for bulkheads and such. Ive already made some ok-ish Tooling, and have not quite managed to make my first with wetted cornstarch

(Course it didnt do very well)

Anyway does someone know where to get the stuff? Un scented kitty litter?

-Pete

Edit: would this do? https://www.amazon.com/Natural-Controls-Naturally-Special-Kitty/dp/B01MQ3XY6J/ref=mp_s_a_1_15?dchild=1&keywords=unscented+clay+cat+litter&qid=1589657438&sr=8-15

Edited by peterpyro

A dollar store or wallmart.

That stuff will work fine. Many people have used that brand of kitty litter with success. If you're ordering something, you might want to think about getting something from a ceramics supplier or Dr. Elsey's which is also highly regarded kitty litter.

That stuff will work fine. Many people have used that brand of kitty litter with success. If you're ordering something, you might want to think about getting something from a ceramics supplier or Dr. Elsey's which is also highly regarded kitty litter.

If looking at a ceramics supplier, I'm told Hawthorne Bond fireclay is excellent. They also will likely have bentonite clay and several other powdered clay materials.

A trusted friend always suggests using the cheapest generic kitty litter available to avoid unnecessary perfumes and fillers. The better ones have uniform sized particles and flow characteristics.

Good hunting!

WSM B)

Don't mail order it! The shipping spikes the price. That stuff is cheap in every place that sells pet supplies. Simply buy the cheapest kitty litter. The cheaper the better.

I was actually at the dollar store yesterday and I thought to look in the pet isle and saw kitty litter, but I was a bit unsure, and I dont think I could have stuffed it in a backpack since I was in my bike. Now I know that any will do, I might go back and get it then...