APC Forum

True risks of 7:3 flash KCIO4-flake

BirdPlaneNoAMicrowavee

Well lets start off with Ive been making flash on and off for a few years now. So definitely not a professional. Using 7:3 perchlorate with different types of flake al only. And this may just sound stupid but I feel like some over exaggerate the true risks of a more stable flash (This is sort of good to detour beginners who think it has little to no risk at all). People say its Static, heat, and impact sensitive yet I have to disagree to an extent. Ive taken >.5g of flash and set up different tests, pored hot glue over it, hit a small amount with a hammer on a brick, and rubbed some with a ballon (stupid test yes). Never has any of that ever set it off. Hell the other day I was making some to euthanize this tree on my property and I tested small amounts in open air, my long bbq lighter would not even ignite it. It was strange but fuse did. I still ground myself and am not a idiot while mixing but I fell like if using perchlorate its actually impressively stable for what it is. Am I wrong?

david maybe just say that your not interested in flash , thats great . im getting ready to make some bottom shots 100 gram not big also making a bunch of crossetts. also in the future some inserts that will have flash