APC Forum

How to test Stars?

peterpyro

Hey this is my first post on this forum so take it easy 😀

I am just beginning to get into pyrotechnics, and made my very first TT stars, i dont know if they even work and I dont know how to test them would I put them in a CB tube and light it?

Any help is much appreciated thanks!

Welcome. The first thing is that you'll want to make sure they're entirely dry. Tigertail can be slow to let all the water fully evaporate. Depending on the size and local temperature/humidity/airflow/etc. they can take upwards of week to weeks to totally dry out. I'd give them 3-4 days to a week at minimum.

Testing them isn't all that difficult. You can light them on the ground as a first test. They will burn, spray some sparks around, but probably leave a glowing ember on the surface. High charcoal stars generally rely on flying through the air for the true effect and full combustion. A small device known as a star mine is probably the best way to test. It's sort of what you described. Some granular black powder on the bottom, and some tiger tail stars over the top. When the black powder ignites, it should fire the stars up in the air and give a nice column of charcoal streamers.

You haven't mentioned anything, but if you have not worked on it, being able to make functional black powder is key to almost everything. It can be purchased as well, but many pyros tend to make it due to significantly lower costs.

Also, I moved this to a different sub-forum. Rocketry doesn't quite cover it.

Ive made BP, but how would you granulate it?

Also its been 2-3days since I made them, and when I drop them from 3 inches into a piece of wood the make a nice klunk that makes me think theyre dry

Ive made BP, but how would you granulate it?

Have a look thru the basics posts here. Best way is to “corn” it. But it can be “riced”... never as fast as pressed/corned powder tho.

Thanks Ritchee and Mumbles, Ill try that 😀