APC Forum

Star prime

Foxfire87

I will be making simple stars since I'm just beginning, tiger tails, I read they dont need primed but it's good practice to prime all stars, so my question is, is there a universal prime that works well for most everything? Or what would be an easy to make prime a beginner could start with and how to apply them to stars? I read so many different ways to prime and I'm getting confused. As I said for a while I will be working with very simple star compositions. Any input or thoughts would be very helpful
  • Like 1

I have not had to prime charcoal stars like tiger tails when pumping/plating as the ends are rough enough from handling to take fire. I have only made a few shells in total over the years, so I may not be the best person to listen to though.

Yes I have read they dont need primed. I guess it was really more to get in the habit and feel comfortable doing it. So I want to start with an easy prime method. Also, can I make tiger tails without a pump or tool? Just roll it out and make small balls out of it?

There is a method called 'cutting stars' that only requires a way to flatten the damp mix and then cut it. My first cut stars were done with rolling a consumer HDPE mortar over putty with a couple of pencils with the flat sides as stand offs for consistent height. After that, I used the sharp edge of a plastic ruler to cut the flattened patty first into strips, then into cubes. They take longer to dry because of the higher moisture needed to make a putty.

These stars all worked well in a shell.

Look up videos on 'cut stars' for more info.

Somme stars need prime, some do not.

Primes can be simple BP slurry, or a sulphurless BP, or something hotter burning like BP +10% metal. Just occasionally there is a real need to double prime with two comps to accommodate the sensitivities of the star and break powders.

• 4 months later...