APC Forum

Newbie: A Few Basic BP Questions

AntarcticFX

Howdy, my fellow pyro's here at the APC Forum. It's a pleasure to make your acquaintance.

I'm fairly new in the art of manufacturing pyrotechnic compounds. I spent months researching safety procedures, the best wood types to use for charcoal, how to make charcoal, and reading tons of pyrotechnic / firework books and research papers before actually deciding to make any compounds myself. An from reading so much I know that many self-respecting pyro's will strive to master the art of producing quality BP before trying to move on to anything else. That's what my goal is at least.

A little bit about my current setup for producing BP; I don't use a ball mill, I don't use a mortar & pestle, nor a blender / coffee grinder. I separately grind the ingredients (mainly just C, my KNO3 / S is already super super fine) into a very fine floating dust by hand prior to beginning the integration process of the three components. I do not use any type of binders either when granulating.

I follow a guide written by a gentleman who frequents these forums that was designed for creating non-milled BP, and you'll have to excuse me but I've forgotten his name as I downloaded the guide months ago from a thread I stumbled across.

Upon completion of getting my components to the fineness that I desire, I then place them in an anti-static mixing container and hand mix all three of them with a paint stirrer for about 120 revolutions.

I then place the mixture into a sieve and sieve it through into another anti-static container, before proceeding to repeat the step listed above. I repeat both steps 1 and 2, alternating from one container to the other until I have a very homogeneous mixture (To the naked eye it's homogeneous; I perform this initial mixing process for an hour or more)