APC Forum

First Rocket with Stars

Dorkmongoose

This is my first attempt at making stars and attaching to a rocket

4 oz BP core burning rocket

1.5" header made per Skylighter spec. except I used a round disk plug instead of tying with string

Homemade dextrin

burst charge: homemade BP with impregnated rice crispies (rice hulls not yet available to me)

chrysanthemum and veline blue stars

Stars were only semi-successful. I can't make out the chrysanthemum. The veline blue looks pale. I will try another blue formula next. Constructive comments are welcome. Thank you!

Edit: to properly attach file

Edited by Dorkmongoose

Nice rocket! I saw some charcoal firedust in the break, but I bet you put more blue stars than charcoal stars! Veline system is optimized to share components, not produce the best color. The metallic fuel is increasing the brightness at the cost of color purity. Organic fueled composition such as pyro science blue http://howtomakefireworks.fireworkscookbook.com/firework-recipe/blue-star-pyro-science-blue/ should have a richer color.

Regarding the break, it's a matter of personal taste and objectives. Clearly the use of a paper plug instead of stringing resulted in a dump break instead of something more symmetrical. I will say that I've seen some Chinese rockets that have huge, thunderous, round breaks from only a bag of flash powder and round stars in a thin tagboard casing.

Looking forward to the next one!

Nice rocket! I saw some charcoal firedust in the break, but I bet you put more blue stars than charcoal stars! Veline system is optimized to share components, not produce the best color. The metallic fuel is increasing the brightness at the cost of color purity. Organic fueled composition such as pyro science blue http://howtomakefireworks.fireworkscookbook.com/firework-recipe/blue-star-pyro-science-blue/ should have a richer color.