APC Forum

Blind stars

kingkama

I'm trying to use a flash bag for breaking a 70 mm shell, but, also using just 4 grams (that I think not so much) the stars go blind. The stars are primed with 60 30 10 plus 5% silicium 5% black aluminum and all is filled with pulverone. I tried to add more flash but the result was worst. I used rinfasciature technique. Someone have some hint? Thaks

I will try but I have to say that before I used a nitrate flash 5g, I had good result, I thinked that the power of a standard one was a bit more, but, I understand that the difference between the two is more than 3 time much. Wow scaring thing, unconfined the nitrate one seemed to me better and powerfull... I'm really a newbie... :(

Chlorate and nitrate for red and green, chlorate and carbonate for orange, chlorate, CuO and srno3 for violet, chlorate and CuO for blue (Shimizu - conkling hibrid).

The purpose of a break charge is to light all the stars before pushing them outwards. If you over boost the break then there is a risk that some to all of the stars will not light before they travel outwards.Your nitrate boost was slower than your flash boost, try reducing the boost even more, the stars must light before they spread out. Builders of big cylinder shells use a weak break powder with rice hulls or similar diluents.

Just a few times you want the break to start at the centre of the shell so you need to pipe the fuse fire to the centre in a cardboard tube and fit it with a flash bag in the centre but containing a very small amount of slow flash, say 0.1g of flash.

• 2 weeks later...