APC Forum

Colored smoke darkening over time

I'm kinda new to making my own pyro and I started making some colored smoke using the firework cookbook kit and formula (5/3/2/1 dye chlorate lactose magnesium carbonate).

In small devices around 11 grams the smoke is a rich blue color but when I went up to 44 grams the smoke turns from blue to a blue-grey color near the end of the burn.

Reading on this it seems like the dye is getting too hot and starting to burn. Is there any trick in assembly of the device to help prevent the darkening of the color? Right now im just been wrapping tp rolls in hvac foil tape and poking a hole in the top to put in a fuse then filling it with the lose powder. Crude I know. When I pressed the composition with my body weight the amount of smoke produced was reduced greatly so I'm having a problem finding a good balance of output and color.

Any ideas?

you could try adding a coolant such as sodium bicarbonate or magnesium carbonate, the latter will have less effect on the burn rate.

alternatively try adding some other material that also sublimes like colophony or even ammonium chloride.

this may dilute the colour slightly but help preserve the dye

I do have magnesium carbonate in the mix but its a pretty small amount 1 gram per 11 grams total mix...can it hurt to add more parts of magnesium carbonate to the mix?

The important detail is that the smoke producing burn MUST be fuelled only by the incorporated oxidiser NOT by atmospheric oxygen. The answer usually lies in the structure of the casing cardboard. Not knowing your casing shape, just consider the smoke generator as a rocket with a large diameter long nozzle. The nozzle on a smoke is critical to function. With black smokes using naphthalene a metal outer can helps retain the naturally volatile naphthalene solid.

That would make sense...ill try a few more ways of making them trying to focus on a good seal and see how that works out thank you.