APC Forum

Need help

pyrojoe78

All right guys im going to be placing a big order of chemicals this is my first attempt at making stars so my question is what comp/stars are the easiest most forgiveable most satisfying ones to make im gonna be getting some star pumps to for hand ramming. This will be for 3 and 4inch shells on top of 1lb rocket motor ive been using starsfrom a friend thanks for the help

Any of the BP/charcoal stars are usually a good place to start, and if you want color, check out the veline system for chemically and visually compatible stars with a combined set of required chems.

Be sure you have a good scale, and work out a good, repeatable process. This includes not double-dipping (using a scoop in one chem source followed by the same scoop in another). Also included is weighing each chem on its own, then combining in a different container, so if you put too much on the scale, it can be pulled back without risk of contaminating the source.

Get some good PPE, no synthetics/all cotton based, and a mask of some sort. I like the full face respirator so I do not get charcoal dust in my eyes.

Any chems that come in a bag you should consider moving to a sealed container when you open the bag. This helps keep out moisture and animals. (I had rodents get into my rice hull bag and wish I had gotten this advice earlier)

Edited by starxplor
  • Like 1

There are many Winokur comps that are simple but look really good. Look at W 20, 38, 39

Thank you gentlemen... Keep it coming

You could also just search/browse the site. There are many threads about this exact topic.

There are so many star formulae that use only regular BP ingredients, or BP plus one or two chems that you could have a lifetime of stars with no special chems, just having several charcoals in several mesh sizes.

After that there is the Veline system for several colours with few ingredients.