APC Forum

Independance red

dynomike1

I just made 3 i lb batches of independence Red and the best i can get is orange and it doesn't want to burn either. Does Strontium Nitrate go bad? It's in its original bag stored in a bucket with a lid.

Strontium Nitrate 50

MGAL 15

Parlon 16

Dextrin 5

Red Gum 10

Ok i swapped the Strontium With Barium and still got the same thing

Edited by dynomike1

I wouldn't think that Strontium Nitrate goes bad - I hope not because I've got some in storage.

This is the formula I've used (with great success) for Red Nitrate Rubber Stars:

Sr[NO3]2 53

MGAL 19

Parlon 17

Red Gum 11

The above formula doesn't use Dextrin.

From memory, when Dextrin is used, it's used as the binder and activated with water. Otherwise you drop the dextrin and use Acetone or (MEK). I'm no expert, so hopefully someone can expand on this.

This is what I wrote down as the results:

These stars work fantastic. Brilliant and strong Red.

Cheers.

Edited by stix

I have used this formula for 4 yrs. and never had a problem. It's not the Strontium i dont think, but now seems like something else is the problem. You just dont miss mix a formula 3 times.

Weird.

Well, take it back to basics. if you've used your formula for 4yrs with success, then track it back. ie. what have you changed recently?

Since you swapped for Barium Nitrate, and it did the same thing, it seems unlikely, but they are both hygroscopic to some extent... Sure the stars are dry? Try drying a bit of nitrate, and excluding the dextrin, and do the "normal" rubber stars variant, with acetone, to see if that helps?

Stix nothing i can think of. I made some with the same chems last year.

Mr B i am working on it

"Rubber" stars do not need to be "dried" - they are "set" through evaporation of the solvent, ie. Acetone or MEK - it's a reasonably simple composition.

Fair enough, I've likely extended the limits of my understanding of chemistry BUT my evaluation scenario holds true: