APC Forum

Air pockets in r-candy

JMan

Using recrystleization method, I always seem to get air pockets in my fuel grains (1 in diamater). I was wondering if theres any way to help get the fuel less airy? I had three thoughts on how to get less air bubbles.

Make the fuel more liquidy so it can be poured and air bubbles can work their own way out.

Extrude the fuel so you dont pack the fuel in one inch chuncks (air gets trapped between these globs of fuel for me).

Make a vacuum chamber so the space between the fuel is negligible once removed.

If anyone has experience fixing air bubbles in rcandy please help me. My problems usually dont cause catos but its not rare that an air bubble ruins my launch.

How about melting the fuel as liquid and fluid as you safely can and then vibrating it as it sets. The vibration should push the air bubbles to the surface and out.

Maybe some sort of household motor or something could provide the vibration (lawnmower).

Im not that experienced with rockets but I have read of the method being used to cast molten TNT.

Ill give it a try on my standard rockets but I think its too thick (and cools too fast) to be noticeably effective. However, it sounds much simpler than building some sort of extrusion machine.

Thanks for the suggestion

Ive been researching and sorbitol (15 dollars per kilo is a good price on amazon) has a much lower melting point (and dosent caramelize or absorb as much water YES).

Can anyone who has used both KNSU and KNSB comment on the viscosity of the two mixtures? Im thinking the lower melting point (and the fact that I can heat it past the melting point with out worry) would make it much more of a liquid. Thank you for any other comments on sorbitol you might have.

Hi Jman, I've done some testing using Sorbitol - this was around 2 years ago. I've made some grains, but never got around to making an actual motor with it... yet!!.