APC Forum

Cylinder shell break symmetry

greenlight

I am quite new to actual shell building and tested a few 3 inch D1 cylinder shells last night.

I am having trouble getting good break symmetry and have uploaded a couple of mid break photos to show.

I am using 4:1 meal coated rice hulls as the burst with a small amount of benzoate whistle in the centre around the end of the spolette.

What is the best way to finish 3 inch cans for good breaks?

Rinfasciature with two sets of spiking or one spiking layer and then pasted kraft afterwards before lifting and leadering.

Should I start coating the twine in PVA glue before spiking?

post-20755-0-99759700-1507526335_thumb.png

post-20755-0-69031800-1507526671_thumb.png

A symmetrical break is accomplished by the combination of proper burst charge, consistent star size, good priming-even with D1, centered placement of TF or spollette. IMO the pasting method and spiking pattern are the least of the concerns, provided they are done at least close to correct.

The problem I see in the pictures looks to be from either incomplete star ignition or inconsistent star sizing. It is very important to ensure that the entire star surface takes fire before the shell opens, a good layer of screen mix BP will solve this. If only a corner of a star lights it will never light entirely as it travels thru the air, it will loose mass slower than the other stars which means it will travel further and distort the break.

I have broken shells with MCRH but I prefer strait BP because of its pushing power. MCRH is fast and explosive but I've found it to lack that push needed to propel the stars very far- that's not to say that it couldn't, but a ratio of 7:1 may work better.

Jason

• Like 1

Thankyou for your reply,

I will make another two 3 inch shells and make sure the stars are cut as even as possible and step prime them this time.

I will fill in all the gaps of the rice hulls with granulated BP as well and see how that goes.